Meet Haitian-American Pop Artist Moxiie

The more I hear people try to place Haitian-Americans in a box of what we should look and sound like, the more I’m introduced to Haitians and artist like Moxiie.

Since the release her debut- Jungle PoP EP, MoXiiE has been on the journey from underground to center stage. Her debut single “Dancing In Dirt” landed on MTV’s Buzzworthy and Moxiie has been on a relentless mission ever since.

UK’s own Pop Justice featured her new single “Anyway” which was produced by Reo of The Soundkillers and placed Moxiie in its “New favorite popstar territory”. Afropunk, Earmilk, StupidDope, and The 405 all describe the rising star as one to watch.

This unsigned Haitian-American, Brooklyn born artist has performed all over NYC to packed venues in Midtown like XL to intimate lower east side haunts like the legendary Arlene’s Grocery, Bowery Electric and The Delancey – to name a few.

A songwriter first, Moxiie spent sleepless nights in studios honing her craft and has emerged as a risk taker and a dynamic songwriter. “I started partying when I was 12, so I’ve seen it all. I kinda burned out on the scene early. It’s fun sometimes, but I have an addictive personality & its gotten me into trouble. I just prefer to put that energy into my music.”

 

Check out her site for more news and music. Here is her latest video “Anyway”

What Are Your Thoughts?

